Radioactivity [Radioactive disintegration]

Radioactivity is defined as the emission of particles and electromagnetic rays from the nucleus of an unstable atom in order to gain stability.

Radioactive decay is a highly exoergic, statistically random, natural process that occurs with a small amount of mass being converted to energy.

As a result of radioactivity, either α -particle or β -particle or γ -radiation is emitted from the unstable nucleus resulting relatively more stable nucleus.

Radioactive disintegration can be divided into following three types:

1. **Alpha decay:** The process in which an unstable atom emits alpha particle from its nucleus is called as alpha decay.

During this decay, a new nucleus is formed in which atomic number decreases by 2 and mass number decreases by 4.

$$_{z}X^{A} \rightarrow _{z-2}Y^{A-4} + _{2}He^{4} + Q$$
 (energy)

2. **Beta decay:** The process in which an unstable atom emits electron from its nucleus is called as beta decay.

During this decay, a new nucleus is formed in which atomic number increases by 1 but mass number remains same.

$$_{z}X^{A}
ightarrow _{z+1}Y^{A} + _{-1}e^{0} + \overline{\nu} + Q$$
 (energy)

Beta decay is classified into two categories:

a. Negative β -decay: The process in which an unstable atom emits electron from its nucleus is called as negative beta decay.

The *Negative* β -particle is not present initially in the nucleus but it is produced due to the conversion of a neutron into a proton.

b. Positive β -decay: The process in which an unstable atom emits positron (antiparticle of electron) from its nucleus is called as positive beta decay.

The *Positive* β -particle is not present initially in the nucleus but it is produced due to the conversion of a proton into a neutron.

$$_{1}p^{1} \rightarrow _{0}n^{1} + _{+1}e^{0} + \nu$$
 [$\nu = neutrino$]

3. Gamma decay: After alpha or beta decay, the new nucleus (daughter nucleus) formed will be in excited state. The process in which the excited atom emits radiation $(\gamma - ray)$ from its nucleus is called as gamma decay.

During this decay, no new nucleus is formed (i.e., atomic number and mass number remains the same as before the emission of γ –rays.

$$({}_{z}Y^{A})^{*} \longrightarrow {}_{Z}Y^{A} + \gamma$$
 (energy)

Types of Radiations

Spontaneous disintegration of a radioactive substance takes place with the emission of three types of radiation. They are: \propto -rays, β -rays, and γ -rays.

1. \propto -particle (rays): Alpha Particles are the helium nuclei having 4 units mass and 2 units charge. It is represented by $_2He^4$.

The fast-moving stream of α - particle (a double charged ionized helium nucleus) is called α - rays.

$$_{92}U^{238} \rightarrow _{90}Th^{234} + _{2}He^{4} (\alpha - rays)$$